You are here:   StartWestern Mazuria
WESTERN MASURIA is the westernmost part of Masuria being separated from the latter by the region of Warmia. When it comes to their culture "Warmia" and "Masuria" used to be two independent regions. Today, however, they may be called an economical unity. What is more, both Warmia and Masuria are formed by manifold landscapes which are known for their outstanding beauty. The name “Masuria” originates from the region’s former settlers coming from another polish province by the name of Masovia. These lands were inhabited by Polish and German/ Protestant residents, whereas the inhabitants of Warmia were mostly Polish, thus Catholic. Nowadays, WARMIA AND MASURIA is concentrated within the Warmian-Masurian voivodeship bordering the Kaliningrad Oblast. Its capital is the city of Olsztyn.

Besides, Western Masuria is bordering the following regions:
- Warmia, in the North and in the Northeast,
- Central Masuria, in the Southeast,
- The Brodnica Lake District, in the south,
- The Vistula Delta Plains and Powiśle, in the west and in the northwest

Western Masuria is an area combining several parts of the administrative districts Iławski (Städte Zalewo, Iława, Lubawa), Olsztyński (the city and the county of Olsztynek) and Elbląski (the city and the county of Pasłęk)), and the geographical regions Pojezierze Iławskie (Iława Lake District), Garb Lubawski (the hills around the city of Lubawa) and Pojezierze Olsztyńskie (Olsztyn Lake District).
Marking the exact borders of Western Masuria is quite a challenge, but, luckily, this should not be a condition to a wonderful holiday.
We would rather love to concentrate on the variety of these lands inviting you to have a memorable stay.

Places worth seeing outside Western Masuria

Staying in Western Masuria you will have the possibility to visit a couple of fascinating places outside of this region, yet still in its vicinity (all in the radius of 150 km). Warmia, the great lakes of Masuria, Masovia, Powiśle, the Vistula Delta Plains and Pomerania are only some of the areas awaiting you.
Warmia - Gietrzwałd – one of the biggest places of pilgrimage in Poland, Warmian Inn Karczma Warmińska serving traditional, regional cuisine and featuring feasts and Jewish folklore shows.

The capital of the voivodeship – Olsztyn: the medieval Teutonic castle was once visited by the famous astronomer Nicolaus Copernicus. Święta LipkaToday, its rooms are used by the Museum of Warmia and Masuria. To commemorate the visit of Copernicus an observatory was erected. Downtown, there are many other cultural attractions, e.g. the theatre and the philharmonics.
Besides the capital of the voivodeship, there is also one of Warmia - Lidzbark Warmiński with its Bishop’s castle. It is also Warmia, where you should visit Frombork, a town with a cathedral and another observatory on its own being connected to Copernicus. Last but not least there are the cities of Braniewo, Orneta and Reszel, but also the basilica of Święta Lipka. Not far from Kętrzyn, in Gierłoż, World War II has left a sad souvenir. Tourists visit this place in order to see the remains of a complex of bunkers used as Hitler’s headquarters - the famous „Wolfsschanze“.

In the northeast, the region of Nidzica borders the Masurian Lakeland.
MalborkTaking Route E7 towards Gdańsk, you will pass trough Elbląg, the capital of the Vistula Delta Plains. Its old town has been reerected and you can marvel at it from a Gothic church’s steeple standing nearby. The city of Elbląg is only 33 km away from the famous Malbork Castle (within the region of the Vistula Delta Plains), the biggest fortress built by the Teutonic Order which is listed as UNESCO World Heritage Site.
Elbląg and Malbork are situated about 60 km away Gdańsk being the capital of Pomerania. Together with the spa town of Sopot and the city of Gdynia, it is part of a metropolitan area called the Tricity.
In the west and in the east, Western Masuria is surrounded by the region of Powiśle which is also full of architectural witnesses of the Monastic State of the Teutonic Knights (you will find them in the cities of Kwidzyn, Gniew, Brodnica, Golub-Dobrzyń). Besides, these lands’ nature, i.e. the landscape preserving park "Brodnicki Park Krajobrazowy" is also well worth seeing.
Last but not least, Western Masuria borders the region of Masovia. Its capital is the capital of Poland, Warsaw.

Gallery Area

  • Iława
  • Ostróda
  • Kanał Elbląski
  • Regaty na jez. Drwęckim w Ostródzie
klaster turystyczny mazury zachodnie

Ta strona używa plików cookies (ciasteczek) w celach statystycznych. Dowiedz się więcej o ich używaniu i możliwości zmiany ustawień w przeglądarce - zobacz.


EU Cookie Directive Module Information